Honors & Awards Archive 2010

Dr. Rhee Receives Two Grants from Gates Foundation

A graduate of Cornell University, Kyu Y. Rhee, MD, PhD is one of only nine grantees to receive further funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, through the Grand Challenges Exploration Program. Dr. Carl Nathan was another of these nine grantees to receive follow-on funding. In addition, each received a second grant through the TB Drug Accelerator Program (two of only seven), an independent program that is part of the larger Gates Grand Challenges initiative.

Dr. Hall-Ross Named Physician of the Year by Department of Nursing

Dr. Hill-RossSandra M. Hall-Ross, MD, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine and Assistant Attending Physician, has been named Physician of the Year by NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital’s Department of Nursing. Established in 2005, the award recognizes physicians who exemplify a spirit of collegiality and collaboration with the nursing staff.

Dr. Guzman Receives $1.5 Million NIH Director's New Innovator Award

Dr. Monica GuzmanMonica L. Guzman, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacology in Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College, is among this year's recipients of the National Institute of Health Director's New Innovator Awards. Established in 2008 to stimulate highly innovative research and support promising new investigators, the five-year award is for $1.5 million.

Department of Medicine Investigator Award 2010

This award is presented annually to members of the Department of Medicine below the rank of professor who perform on outstanding levels in the areas of clinical and/or basic biomedical research. The award has been generously supported by the Michael Wolk Foundation.

Department of Medicine Fellows Award 2010

Initiated in 2002, this award is presented annually to fellows within the Department of Medicine who have presented outstanding research.

David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award 2010

Established in 1995, the David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award encourages medical residents to continue their investigative research in internal medicine. Each year, senior medical residents submit research abstracts, and four finalists are chosen to present their work during medical grand rounds.

Department of Medicine Teaching Awards 2010

In keeping with our tradition of excellence in education, the Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the following Teaching Awards presented to our faculty, fellows, and residents at the 2010 Convocation Ceremony.

Top of page