Welcome to the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine

Augustine M.K. Choi, MD Sanford I. Weill Chairman, Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine

Welcome to the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine of Weill Cornell Medical College and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center. We are responding to the unprecedented challenges of academic medicine at the beginning of the 21st century with an uncompromising commitment to leadership and innovation in our interdependent missions of patient care, education and research. This commitment is built on the foundation of a long and rich tradition of preeminence in American medicine.

As the Sanford I. Weill Chair of the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine, I look forward to the extraordinary journey ahead with the greatest of enthusiasm. We are indebted to those pioneering physicians and scientists who drove the major discoveries over the past century, but we cannot rest on their laurels. Today's world of translational research offers undiscovered vistas to explore that will open the door to life-saving therapies. An ever-expanding universe of biomedical sciences, genomics, and technological tools will provide the key. We are on the precipice of targeted patient therapies that will not only save lives, but will enable a new style of more personalized and individualized treatments.

New York City offers an ideal setting for our pursuits, a multicultural academic mecca providing a full spectrum of patient cohorts and diseases that is unparalleled anywhere in the world. Our researchers are collaborating on projects nationally and internationally, and with colleagues at the Clinical and Translational Science Center here at NYP/WC, as well as with neighboring world class institutions, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Rockefeller University, and Hospital for Special Surgery. Their research addresses the medical concerns of our time – from cancer, obesity and diabetes, to lung, heart, kidney and infectious diseases – to name a few. We are also fortunate to be utilizing laboratory space in our campus's spectacular new hub for science, the Belfer Research Building.

The Department is set to experience exponential growth in its clinical care mission. A newly recruited cadre of physicians and scientists are bringing the highest levels of expertise in their specialized fields of medicine. Our outstanding physicians treat patients from New York City, the tri-state area, the nation, and all corners of the world. Patient care services have expanded to encompass NewYork-Presbyterian/Lower Manhattan Hospital, as our many satellite and affiliated locations continue to evolve. We remain committed to providing all patients with the high-quality healthcare, compassion and dignity they deserve.

Home to one of the country's top tier residency training programs, our department is known for its innovative approach to education. Residents-in-training, fellows, and Weill Cornell medical students enjoy an environment of camaraderie, replete with a wide array of clinical and research opportunities. Our extraordinarily dedicated faculty implement a proactive style of mentoring that is geared to building a young physician's career path – whether it be physician-scientist, clinical educator, or academic leader.

With a passion for medicine, unwavering focus, and the remarkable talents of our faculty, we are using today's scientific tools to unravel tomorrow's medical discoveries. We look to a new era in life-saving therapies. Our patients deserve nothing less.

Best regards,
Augustine M.K. Choi, M.D.

Annual Report

The Annual Report provides an in-depth view of the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine's latest news in patient care services, breakthrough research, innovative educational programs for residents and fellows, Honors, Awards and a Financial Report. Read More

Residency Training Program in Internal Medicine

The Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine is home to one of the premiere internal medicine residency program in the country.
Read More

Historical Tours of Medicine

View our interactive timelines, covering advances in Clinical Pharmacology, Hematology & Medical Oncology, and Vascular Biology.
Take the Tour

Clinical Trials

Are you a patient or healthy volunteer looking to join a research study? Click here for a complete list of clinical trials in the department.

Click here for Medicine Grand Rounds

No CME credit available. Must
have CWID/IT account to access.

News & Highlights


Dr. Judy Tung Appointed to Chair of the Department of Medicine at NYP/LMH

Judy Tung, MD, will be joining NewYork-Presbyterian/Lower Manhattan Hospital (NYP/LMH) to serve as Chair of the Department of Medicine as of January 2016. A leading expert in internal medicine and primary care, Dr. Tung also specializes in women's health.

Dr. Monika Safford Appointed to Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine

Dr. Monika Safford has been appointed to Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine in the Weill Department of Medicine effective January 1, 2016. Recruited from the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine (UAB), she is a leading scholar in the field of internal medicine.

Dr. Steven M. Lipkin Named Vice Chair for Basic and Translational Research

Steven M. Lipkin, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, has been named as Vice Chair for Basic and Translational Research in the Weill Department of Medicine. Dr. Lipkin will work closely with departmental and divisional leadership to enhance and foster the research activities of our faculty and trainees.

Dr. Artis Publishes Major Advance on Gut Health in PNAS: A Sophisticated Dialogue

Dr. David Artis, a world renowned expert in immunology and inflammatory bowel disease research and Director of the Jill Roberts Institute for Research in Inflammatory Bowel Disease, has published a landmark paper in PNAS that provides new insight on how the intestines repair themselves after daily attacks from microbes and environmental triggers.

End-of-Life Chemotherapy for Cancer Patients in Question: Dr. Prigerson Publishes Landmark Findings in JAMA Oncology

Challenging widespread clinical practice and accepted treatment guidelines, Dr. Holly Prigerson, Irving Sherwood Wright Professor in Geriatrics, has published a paper in JAMA Oncology that puts the value of chemotherapy for end-of-life patients with cancer into question. It was found that patients who were ambulatory (able to do light work) and receiving chemotherapy at study entry, had significantly lower quality of life at the end of their lives compared to those who were not received chemotherapy.

Dr. Brown Appointed to Vice Chair of Transitions of Care for the WDOM

Robert S. Brown, Jr., MD, MPH, has been appointed to Vice Chair of Transitions of Care for the Weill Department of Medicine (WDOM). He is the Interim Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology and the Director of the Center for Liver Disease and Transplantation at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center. Additionally, Dr. Brown holds the title of Professor of Clinical Medicine at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons.

Weill Cornell Department of Medicine's Employee Recognition Program Announces Winners

The Results, Rewards and Recognition Committee (R3) of the Weill Department of Medicine completed its bimonthly review. The Super Star winners were Angie McNally, Administrative Specialist, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, and Allison Lasky, Administrative Coordinator, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Care Medicine.